Sandra McDonough, BA ’76, BA '76 was named president for the upcoming year


UOAA Board Nominates New President

At the spring 2015 UOAA Board of Directors meeting, the board confirmed its new president, nominated a new president and treasurer, and welcomed 10 outstanding Ducks as new members.

Sandra McDonough, BA '76, BA '76, who served as president-elect under President Derrick Deadwiler, BS '94 last year, was officially named new president of the UOAA board. McDonough is the president and CEO of the Portland Business Alliance, and holds a pair of bachelor's degrees from the UO, in journalism and German.

Tim Hardin, BS ’87, who spent last year serving as board treasurer, was named president-elect for the upcoming year. Hardin is the global division risk manager for Silicon Valley Bank, and in addition to holding a bachelor of science in economics from the College of Arts and Sciences, also holds an MBA from UCLA’s Anderson Graduate School of Management.

Nominated to replace Hardin as treasurer was Tony Robinson, BA ’91. Robinson, previously a board director, is an associate at Ringler Associates, a settlement and annuity firm, and is a member of the Washington State Trial Lawyers Association.

The Executive Committee At Large will be composed of Doug Badger, BA ’91, managing partner at Quinn Thomas; Jackson Jeyanayagam, BS ’00, senior vice president of digital strategy for Taylor PR; Maylian Pak, MA ’05, donor relations officer for the Oregon Community Foundation; and Bruce Waltz, BS ’74, MEd ’80, retired principal at Memorial Elementary School.

The Board Development At Large committee will be composed of Cyndi Bopp Leinassar, BS ’92, deputy director for the Community Action Agency; Daniel Lavey, BA ’88, partner at the Gallatin Group; Mark Pilkenton, BS ’79, director of global brand culture for Nike, Inc.; Carmen Rubio, BA ’99, executive director for The Latino Network; and Beth Sheehan, BS ’87, MS ’91, community volunteer, formerly with the Oregon Research Institute.

The 10 new members nominated for their first terms are:

Portland District

Oscar Arana, BA ’04, BA ’04, MBA ‘12
Director of strategic development and communications, Native American Youth and Family Center; UO President’s Diversity Advisory Council Member; UO President Search Committee Advisory member

Alison Battaglia, BS ’04
Senior digital consultant, Oregon Media Group; UOAA Board Regional Representative (2014)

Shirley Hancock, BS ’80
Journalist and public relations, Jenna Cooper PR, 1859 Magazine; UO Portland Alumni Chapter Spotlight Award

Eugene District

Susan Roberts

Oregon At Large

Patsy Wilber, BS ’63, MA ’78
Self-employed library consultant

US At Large

Mike Couch, BS ’64
President and owner, Couch Properties; UO Foundation Board of Trustees, College of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors

John Easton, BS ’91
Chief of Staff, US Senator Kelly Ayotte; US Senate Bipartisan Chiefs of Staff Group board member; Chair of Development Committee

Renee Evans, BA ’97
Grants coordinator, District of Columbia Government, Department of Behavioral Health; Alpha Kappa Alpha chapter president (2011-12)

Lisa Khan-Kapadia, BA ‘97
The REACH Institute; NY Ducks Board Chair (2010-12); director, Pac-12 Alumni Associations of New York; Harvard Club of Victoria, Australia

Adolf Zeman, BS ’00
Attorney, Landye Bennett Blumstein, LLP; founding president of Alaska Ducks alumni chapter; legal advisor to UO Delta Sigma Phil Alumni Board; Alaska Bar Association